In January 2021, WhatsApp notified users of the new privacy terms. Under the new policy, the messaging app would give Facebook (its parent company) complete access to users’ data including their names, phone numbers, location, and other details.
As reported, the company will send regular reminders to users who will decline its new privacy terms instead of deleting their account and restricting the use of core features. WhatsApp said in a statement that:
While the majority of users who have received the new terms of service have accepted them, we appreciate some people haven’t had the chance to do so yet.
No accounts will be deleted on May 15 because of this update and no one will lose the functionality of WhatsApp either. We will follow up with reminders to people over the next several weeks.
The company explained that the new update will enable it to improve its services and show targeted ads. But there is a general mistrust with letting Facebook handle users’ private data. Therefore, it is a good decision by WhatsApp to listen to users’ feedback and revise its policy.