Instagram last year announced that it was working on a new chronological feed option for users. Now, it has started rolling out new Following and Favorites feed options, allowing users to sort their feed in chronological order or see content just from their favorite users.
Instagram for iOS now offers two new feed options
Launched today, the Following option is a chronological feed, it displays the latest posts from followed accounts that each user follows in reverse chronological order. Favorites allows users to choose up to 50 accounts and see the posts from those accounts in chronological order as well. Posts from accounts marked as favorites will be marked with a star icon and will show up higher in the default home feed.
Favorites shows you the latest from accounts that you choose, like your best friends and favorite creators. In addition to this view, posts from accounts in Favorites will also show up higher in your home feed.
Following shows you posts from the people you follow. Both Favorites and Following will show you posts in chronological order, so you can quickly catch up on recent posts.
The platform is rolling out the new feeds today and they can be accessed by tapping on the Instagram logo in the top left corner of the home page. This means that users will have to manually switch to Following or Favorites every time they open Instagram for iOS. The algorithmic “Home” feed will still be the default setting.
In a statement to CNET, a spokesperson for the platform said that it believes “people have a better experience on Instagram with a ranked feed,” so the company does not plan to be “defaulting people into a chronological feed.”
Since the new feeds have only started rolling out today, users may not be able to see the new options on their account but they should be accessible as the rollout progresses.
- Instagram for iPad will launch when there are “enough” iPad users, says company’s head
- Instagram introduces new “Private Story Like” feature to declutter DMs
- Instagram adds new “Your activity”, “Account Status” and other safety features