WhatsApp users who won’t agree to privacy update will not be able to read and send messages

In January 2021, WhatsApp announced the release of a new privacy update that will allow the messaging app to share users’ data with its parent company, Facebook by default on February 8, 2021. However, users’ strong and resentful reaction to the update, worldwide, forced the company to postpone the release till May 15, while it explained that its new update will not impact their privacy.

Although the company has been using all means possible to gain the public’s support, an email reviewed by TechCrunch reveals which punitive measures will be taken by WhatsApp against users who do not agree to its new privacy.

WhatsApp

WhatsApp will make sure users agree to the new privacy term to use its platform

TechCrunch claims that an email sent to WhatsApp’s merchant partner stated that users will have to agree to the new terms in order to use the all features of the app.

Facebook-owned WhatsApp said it will “slowly ask” such users to comply with the new terms “in order to have full functionality of WhatsApp” starting May 15.

If they still don’t accept the terms, “for a short time, these users will be able to receive calls and notifications, but will not be able to read or send messages from the app,” the company added in the note.

WhatsApp privacy

The company has confirmed the accuracy of the above-stated measures to TechCrunch. The information is also corroborated by the company on its newly created FAQ page related to the upcoming privacy update explaining that inactive accounts will be deleted after a “short time” which the publisher clarifies will be 120 days.

To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th. If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.

Shortly after its acquisition in 2014, the social messaging app changed its privacy policy and shared users’ data with its parent company, Facebook. But there is a widespread outcry against the upcoming privacy update now because previously users had the option to opt-out of data sharing between WhatsApp and its parent company Facebook which they will not be able to do so after May 15.

Users began to download other messaging apps like Telegram which gained 25 million new users because of WhatsApp’s controversial update. Upcoming ATT iOS 14.5 privacy update has forced Facebook is pushing such a popular feature on WhatsApp. ATT update will make it mandatory for developers to seek users’ permission to track their online activities which would adversely affect its targetted ads revenue because it assumes that most users will opt-out.

About the Author

Snapchatter and Apple fangirl, covers everything about social media, app reviews and Apple news.