WhatsApp wants to add profile photos to group chats

WhatsApp is yet again working on another feature for group chats. This time, the company is testing the addition of profile photos for users within group chats, helping to discern who is sending a message – similar to the functionality Apple’s iMessage offers.

WhatsApp

New feature for group chats in WhatsApp is currently under beta testing

As reported by WABetaInfo, WhatsApp for iOS beta version 22.18.0.72 includes profile photos within group chats. As of right now, the feature is being tested with a limited number of iOS users.

WhatsApp plans to introduce something that has been requested for a long time: profile photos of group participants! When this feature will be released to beta testers, profile photos of other group participants will show up next to all incoming messages within the group chat, in a future update of the app.

WhatsApp group chats

In related news, the Meta-owned platform is also testing another feature that gives group admins privileges to delete messages sent by other users via a new “delete for everyone” option available when you tap on delete after long-pressing a message. Other members are notified if a group admin deletes a message using this functionality.

WhatsApp beta for iOS also allows users to view status updates straight from the chat list. Now, when a contact uploads a new status, beta testers can simply tap their profile picture to view it.

Also related to group chats, the company is also currently testing another feature related to groups called “Past Participants,” allowing users who search and view the information of group members who were removed from a group or left it in the past 60 days.

As for features that have been rolled out to all users, WhatsApp recently extended the time limit to delete a message from one hour, eight minutes, and 16 seconds to a whopping 60 hours.

Furthermore, it recently rolled out the ability to exit a group privately without the app notifying every other user in the group that you have left. Alongside the ability to leave groups silently, the company also launched the ability to hide your online status from certain users and being able to block users from screenshotting View Once Messages.

Read more:

About the Author

Asma is an editor at iThinkDifferent with a strong focus on social media, Apple news, streaming services, guides, mobile gaming, app reviews, and more. When not blogging, Asma loves to play with her cat, draw, and binge on Netflix shows.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.