iOS 9.3 shows when your organization supervised iPhone is being tracked

0
278

Apple has quietly shipped a new addition in iOS 9.3 beta 5. It now shows a message to users when their iPhone is managed by their organisation along with a warning that the user’s internet traffic and location can be monitored by the company.

This comes in at a time when Apple is leading the fight against FBI for user privacy and security. iPhones can be setup by companies via MDM (mobile device management) which lets them keep the phones and the data on it secure since it might have valuable company information. However, through this update, Apple is doing a great job at notifying users that their privacy might be at stake so they should tread with caution.

The privacy message is shown on the iPhone’s lock screen and in Settings > General > About. If your iPhone is a personal purchase and not managed by your employer, this is not something you need to be concerned about.

P.S. if your iPad is also setup via MDM, you will get this message too.

iOS 9.3 shows when your organization supervised iPhone is being tracked
Screenshots via Reddit