Leaker Wabetainfo shared an image of WhatsApp’s upcoming disappearing feature in the app’s settings on iOS. As announced in November 2020, upon enabling disappearing messages, the messages sent in individual and group chats will disappear after 7 days. Users will be able to save the content before it disappears. A similar disappearing feature is already available on Instagram and now it will be making its way to WhatsApp in a new update.
iOS users will be able to enable WhatsApp Disappearing Mode in the app’s privacy settings
As per the report, after enabling the upcoming feature in the privacy setting of the app, new messages will disappear and the previous ones will remain in the chat after the 7 days duration.
Today we’re announcing the first one called Disappearing Mode!
If you love privacy, disappearing messages is the feature for you. You can enable it within Contact Info and Group Info, but it can happen that you have to manually enable it when a contact starts a new chat with you: for this reason WhatsApp is now developing a new option in WhatsApp Settings > Privacy that will automatically turn on disappearing messages in new chats!
Users must be aware that only text messages will disappear after 7 sevens, and the images shared in the Disappearing mode will automatically save on the smartphone’s photos library. However, the leaker previously discovered that the company is working on self-destruct photos on iOS and Android on the ‘about disappearing messages’ FAQ page.
WhatsApp is working on self-destructing photos in a future update for iOS and Android. • Self-destructing photos cannot be exported from WhatsApp. • WhatsApp didn’t implement a screenshot detection for self-destructing photos yet.
This Snapchat-like feature is the company’s take on privacy. Recently, the company released its controversial privacy update which allows the platform to share users’ personal information with its parent company, Facebook. Users’ details like phone numbers, location, contacts, and others. This makes one question that users’ privacy is not saving or deleting messages, it is protecting their personal information from digital advertisers and data brokers.