However, to be added to multiple group chats can be irksome for some users, speaking from personal experience. WhatsApp is working on a feature for such users as well. WABetaInfo has found that the social messaging company is also working on a new feature for groups that will allow users to “silently exit” groups in a future update.
WhatsApp will not send a message on the group chat when a person decides to exit
As per the shared screenshot, when a participant will exit a group, the confirmation prompt will read that “only you and group admins will be notified that you left the group” and other participants will not be notified with an “xvye left” alert on the chat.
This screenshot is very clear: when you want to exit a WhatsApp group, other people won’t be notified in the chat. Only group admins will be able to see who exits the group, but others don’t.
What does it mean? When you exit a group, WhatsApp normally adds a system message in the chat to inform all participants that you exited the group: this information will only show up to group admins in the future. Group admins should always be notified about what happens in their groups, so it is needed to show them who exited a group.
According to the report, the company will release the new feature on iOS and Android versions of the app, along with the Desktop version of the app.
Note that even if the screenshot is taken from WhatsApp Desktop beta, the feature will surely be released on WhatsApp beta for Android and iOS in the future.
- Apple’s issues with developing its mixed-reality headset highlighted in a new report
- Apple announces new accessibility features for communication, health, navigation, and more