iOS 16 privacy features: Safety Check, lock hidden photo albums, and others

The upcoming iOS 16 update brings several new innovative features like a customizable lock screen, Live Text, SharePlay support for iMessage, and much more. The update also includes new privacy features to protect users’ data, especially for victims of domestic violence.

iOS 16- privacy

All the new privacy features in iOS 16

Apple is strongly committed to protecting users’ privacy. Last year, the company introduced privacy features to protect users’ precise location, displayed alerts when apps copied their clipboards, turned on orange and green lights when the device’s microphone and camera were used, the App Tracking Transparency feature, and more.

In the new iOS 16, the tech giant has honored the same commitment to strengthen users’ privacy even more.

Safety Check for victims of DV or IPV

Often partners or spouses share their Login IDs, passwords, and other credentials which could be used to control them by tracking their location, checking their mail, reading messages, and other private information. And in incidents where one partner tries to leave the abuser, he/she can be lockout of their device if their password is changed.

iOS 16- privacy

Therefore, to protect such victims, Apple has introduced a new Safety Check feature for victims of domestic and intimate partner violence to quickly reset all access they have given to others for their personal safety; the emergency reset allows them to easily sign out of their iCloud account across devices, limit messaging on their device, and reset privacy permission. It also enables them to manage the people and apps they have given access to. The new Safety Check feature is designed to give controls back to survivors.

iOS 16- privacy

Lock the “Hidden and Recently Deleted” albums in Photos

iOS users can not password-protect their Photos app and not even the Hidden and Recently Deleted albums. The unwanted screenshots, images, and videos are moved and stored in the Deleted album for 30 days before disappearing from the album and users can remove their private images and videos in the Hidden album for their eyes only.

iOS 16 locks both Hidden and Recently Deleted albums by default which can be accessed with an iPhone authentication method: passcode, Touch ID, or Face ID.

iOs 16 -Photos privacy

Pasteboard permission

On iOS 16, apps will require users’ permission to access their pasteboard to paste content from another app. This feature is a barrier to deterring invasive tracking.

Improved media streaming

Users will be able to stream video from devices that do not support AirPlay, directly without requiring access permission to Bluetooth or a local network.

Read More:

About the Author

Addicted to social media and in love with iPhone, started blogging as a hobby. And now it's my passion for every day is a new learning experience. Hopefully, manufacturers will continue to use innovative solutions and we will keep on letting you know about them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *