How to erase an iPhone

Sometimes your iPhone may face persistent issues that cannot be addressed through restarting or hard resetting it. If your iPhone is constantly freezing, glitching, or if you are experiencing any other software-related issues, you might want to erase all content and settings on it which would effectively erase it. After you erase an iPhone, you can always restore your data via a backup and it should work fine from there on out.

In addition, if you want to sell your device, it is best to ensure your data is erased. Resetting your iPhone will delete all content and settings from the device like pictures, playlists, Home screen layout, apps, etc. Here’s how to erase an iPhone in a few simple steps.

How to erase an iPhone

Learn how to erase an iPhone

Before you erase an iPhone, you might want to have a backup of your data in case you need to restore it once you erase all content and settings of the device.

  1. Launch the Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone.
  2. Go to General. How to erase an iPhone
  3. Scroll down and tap on Transfer or Reset iPhone. How to erase an iPhone
  4. Finally, tap Erase All Content and Settings. You will be instructed to enter your passcode. How to erase an iPhone
  5. Tap Erase to confirm.

This process of erasing the device should only take a few minutes but it depends on how much content is on the device. Once the iPhone restarts with all content and settings erased, you can set it up as new or restore a backup.

We hope this guide helped you learn how to erase an iPhone. If you have any questions, let us know in the comments below. Learn how to reset and erase a locked iPhone without a computer here.

Read more:

About the Author

Asma is an editor at iThinkDifferent with a strong focus on social media, Apple news, streaming services, guides, mobile gaming, app reviews, and more. When not blogging, Asma loves to play with her cat, draw, and binge on Netflix shows.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.