How to set messages to automatically delete on iPhone

There’s a way you can set messages to automatically delete after a certain period of time from your iPhone. This is a great setting to enable if your conversations take up a lot of storage space due to a large number of photo and video attachments. Here’s how to set messages to automatically delete on your iPhone, in a few simple steps.

How to set messages to automatically delete on iPhone

Learn how to set messages to automatically delete on iPhone

Before you begin, note that adjusting this setting may cause your older messages to be permanently deleted. If you are unsure about settings your messages to be automatically deleted, make sure you back up your data beforehand.

  1. Launch Settings from the Home screen of your iPhone.
  2. Tap on Messages. automatically delete
  3. Go to Keep Messages, it will be located under Message History. automatically delete
  4. Check the Message History setting you want to apply. You can choose to keep messages forever, for 30 days, or for 1 year. automatically delete

Whichever option you choose will now be applied to the messages you send and receive. Note that this setting only applies to you. If the person you are sending messages to has the Forever option selected, your messages will not be deleted from their device.

We hope this guide helped you learn how to set messages to automatically delete on your iPhone. If you have any questions, let us know in the comments below.

Read more:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter


Get the latest news and deals right in your inbox

About the Author

Asma is an editor at iThinkDifferent with a strong focus on social media, Apple news, streaming services, guides, mobile gaming, app reviews, and more. When not blogging, Asma loves to play with her cat, draw, and binge on Netflix shows.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *